SQL Saturday #271 Albuquerque New Mexico

dsc_0128

Seems like just last weekend I was heading off to New Mexico for my First SQL Saturday of the year.   It was actually 2 weeks ago but who’s counting.  🙂

I arrived really late Friday night unfortunately so I missed the speaker dinner.   I checked in did some double checks on my presentation and headed off to bed.  The event started at 8:00 so it was an early morning for me.  I picked up Gabrielle (blog|Twitter) from his hotel at about 7:00  a.m. so we could get over to the event early and help setup.

This was the first SQL Saturday I had attended where I had not organized the event or been part of the organizing committee.   It’s very different in the morning to not have nearly as much stress that comes with putting on an event.   Not that the SQL Saturday team had anything to worry about they put on an excellent event and took great care of the attendees, speakers and sponsors.  I was really impressed with how they did and how smooth it ran.

What a Speaker Room!

What a Speaker Room!

We had a great space for the speaker room so I quickly got in and started to test my presentation and get my computer setup.  I recently moved to a new computer and it only has 8GB of ram since I was running a VM and SQL server I wanted to make sure I only had open what I needed.

My presentation time came around and I felt I was ready to go.  The presentation really went well in my opinion even though my demo did fail.  The issue of not having enough ram came back to bite me. When I was trying to run my Sqoop import the computer froze on me.  I couldn’t get back to my Power point or anything with the VM.  Luckily we had enough questions and discussion to get around the issue.  The rest of the presentation went pretty well after that.  Overall I was satisfied that everyone learned something in the presentation.

Lunch Time!

Lunch Time!

The rest of the afternoon I attended some other sessions but also spent some time hanging out in the speaker room catching up with friends I usually only see once a year at the PASS Summit.  It was really nice to just sit and chat with them.  I made sure to spend some time at lunch chatting with people I didn’t know as well so that I can make new contacts in the future.

Cocktails and Food

Cocktails and Food

The end of the day giveaways went well and then we headed off to some cocktails/food for an after party.  It was great to sit down and chat with others and talk about all the various projects they have going on.

Sunrise

Sunrise

I woke up early Sunday morning and went out to greet the sunrise I ended up with a few good shots. Overall it was a great weekend and I can’t wait till my next SQL Saturday weekend at a future event. I’ve submitted to SQL Saturday Las Vegas and SQL Saturday Madison hopefully I will be able to speak at both.  I really want to make it back to NM next year as well

All my photos of the event are located here.

Leave a Reply

