Upcoming Speaking Events

This is going to be a very busy next few months for me. Besides putting on some really cool and rocking events in the next few months I will also be speaking.  Hopefully in several different states.  I’m working on blog posts to go along with these presentations but for now here’s what I’m currently presenting on and when.

Building a Cost Effective Reporting system.

This presentation is all about using the right tool for the job.  At my current company we moved from a vertical scale system to a horizontally scalable system.   SQL Server does a lot of things really well but scale horizontally is not one of them.  Using a mix of open source technologies and SQL Server we were able to get a highly scalable system at a much better cost.  If you have been looking into #bigData technologies and what you can do with them(or what all the buzz is about) this is a great presentation to get you started and show you what can be done when you use the right tools for the job.

I will be presenting this at SQL Saturday #271 in Albuquerque NM coming up on the 25th of this month.  This is going to be a really fun event with lots of great presenters.  Check out the schedule to see the great lineup.   It will before the First SQL Saturday that I am presenting at that I did not in some way organize or help put on so this should be very interesting for me to observe just as a speaker and attendee.

I’ve submitted this same topic to Sql Saturday #287 and Sql Saturday #295.  I hope to be able to present at both of these events in the next few months.

Along with presenting I’m working on 2 other Major events coming up in the next few months.  Utah Code Camp will be held on March 15th 2014.  This will be our largest event to date and the most diverse with many varied topics all related to technology in some way.

Big Mountain Data is coming up April 12th 2014.  This will be an event all about Big Data.  Whether you are an expert in the field or just getting started and want to know how to work with big data we will have something for everyone.  You can register now and we hope to have the schedule up very soon for this event.

I’m looking forward to a very busy next 4-5 months and hopefully I will see many of you at one of these events.

Leave a Reply

