Giving your notice Post 1/3 Moving Day

As I mentioned in my last post I took some time off for the holidays.  Of course what I didn’t mention in that post is that the New Year brings a new position for me as well.  I’ve accepted a position as a Director of Data management at a new company and will begin work next week.  I’m really looking forward to the position as I will be able to work with some other RDBMS technologies that I have had little exposure to in the past( Mysql, Oracle).  I will also get to design new reporting and DataWarehouse systems. I don’t know about you but that’s fun to me.  None of my community activities will change I’m even ramping up some of them even more since we are talking a lot more on at the Utah Geek Events with running the Code Camp and assisting with the Pod Camp as well.  This is going to be a big year for me and I look forward to it.

Lots of people have discussed what to do as a new DBA and your first days on the job.  What about your last days on the job?  Perhaps it’s just a given everyone understands what you need to do when you leave a company or intend to leave a company?  I figured I would get some blog posts out on what I typically do and how I handle leaving a company.  Here’s the first section and I’ll get the additional items in future blog posts.  While reading these keep in mind they are general suggestions that have served me well through the years every company is different and you will run into different situations.

Communication

Let me just start with saying Communication is key in any position.  How you work with your manager and others around you is very important. Before you give any company that 2 week notice please communicate with your manager if you’re concerned about certain things.  If they are not aware of your displeasure or issues you have they cannot attempt to fix them and that’s not fair to you or the company.  This is just a general rule there are cases where you need to get out of a position because of unfair treatment or monetary concerns.

The 2 week notice

So how do you give your 2 weeks?  Most companies will say they require something in writing. I 100% agree with this idea. I have yet to leave a position without giving an email that would give the details to clearly let the company know I’m leaving and when (It’s in writing because they can print it). I always CC the email to an external address so I have a record of the email and when it was sent.   I always follow up that email with a meeting with my boss. I’ll typically send it out early in the morning so that I can meet with him/her later that day.  The follow up meeting to me is very important, I value all the people I have worked with in the past and will most likely work with again in the future so I want to do my best to make them comfortable with my decisions.  I also want to give them the chance to discuss those decisions.

The Counter Offer

For some you may be given a counter offer from your current employer to try and keep you.  I have never accepted a Counter Offer after giving my two weeks.  I typically suggest to people that they need to make up their mind before getting to this stage.  Make sure this is what you want and you are firm with this decision.  No matter how great the offer is most likely the reasons you were willing to leave still exist.  You are also seen differently from that point forward from the company since your loyalty will be in question.  This is why I suggest good communication, if you are unhappy in your job then you need to let the company know sooner rather than later that you are unhappy.

This is first in the series next up I’ll discuss how to spend your final two weeks.

5 responses to “Giving your notice Post 1/3 Moving Day

  1. Good Luck! I can’t wait for that type of position to come my way. I am surprised you send the e-mail and then have the meeting. I usually go the other way — schedule the e-mail to arrive shortly after the face to face (although I did schedule poorly once and it arrived during the face to face).

  2. Things that people often don’t think about:
    – Vacation time payout. Make sure you explicitly request the payout in writing. That is time the company owes you and you may or may not need to request it in writing, depending on laws in your area. In Utah, your employer can require that you must have been there for a full year before taking vacation, but if you get vacation time, you start accruing on day one, not at 30 or 90 days.
    – Find out when you will get your final paycheck. Again, that varies by law in your area. In Utah, if you quit, they must get your final paycheck to you at the next normal payroll date. If you’re fired, they must have it to you within one business day.
    – 401K. Make sure you have roll over plans. You need to get your 401K balance out of the company you’ve been with.

  3. Sandra, Most of the time the email does not come as a shock to my managers and is more of a formality. I’ve had a good working relationship with all of my managers and try to communicate with them well to let them know something is not right for me. 🙂

    Craig, Great points to add. Most of those things have never been a huge problem for me but I agree 100% and thank you for bringing them up. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Giving your notice Post 1/3 Moving Day | Sql Server Insane Asylum -- Topsy.com

  5. Congrats. Where is this new position?

Leave a Reply

