PASS Summit Sessions

The PASS Summit is on and in full force. I’ve had the advantage to attend many more sessions this year than the last 2 years. As a Board of Director your ability to attend sessions is greatly diminished by meetings and activities during PASS.

I was fortunate enough to attend Kimberly Tripp’s (Blog | Twitter)  session on GUID’s. Before I get into some session details I just have to say it’s been a few years since I have been fortunate enough to see her present and she still does not disappoint. I really appreciate the time and effort she puts into presentations for the attendees benefit.  It’s not really a question of what she is presenting on.  Attend and you will learn something.

I wanted to get a quick summary out about what I learned mostly for my own future benefit.  This will not be an exact exhaustive detailed post about the presentation if you want to know the thousands of numbers she quoted buy the DVD or attend the session next time she presents it.  🙂

I unfortunately have a system that uses a GUID as a PK.  I know this is bad and wasn’t on that part of the original design but I really didn’t know it was that BAD.  Let me tell you based off the numbers presented today it really is THAT bad.  Just a simple number she put out to show the point.  14 seconds for a load using int’s 1:45 seconds for the same sequential GUID  (which is similar to my system).  That right there is a huge difference!  Not to mention the Fragmentation and the Excess number of pages because  of the GUID just makes the IO thrash that much more.  The one good thing about all this is that I found a new way I can really try and Punish my SSD’s/HDD for testing purposes.

Unfortunately you may not have many easy solutions to get rid of these horrible datatypes.  Maintenance will help you to keep them somewhat in check but only to a point.  At some point maintenance will take so long that it will cease to be effective and you will need to design them out or get better hardware.

After the session it was painfully obvious to me these poisonous datatypes have very little place in the world.  🙂

Leave a Reply

