A Simple Thank You

         

In case you didn’t notice or have been on vacation for the last few days there has been quite the discussion going on in the SQL Community about the PASS Board of Directors election. I was going to write a blog post about my opinions on the elections but I’m pretty sure it’s all been said. Matter of fact here’s my favorite blogs on it.

Kendal van Dyke

Stuart Ainsworth

I don’t have anything that needs to be said about the election that has not been said already. Ok so what the hell is this blog post about then? I wanted to focus on some of the great things that PASS has done for me. Perhaps I’m wrong to mention the good things they have done when it seems like all they do is make mistakes but I guess it’s just in my happy nature to do so. Please do not think this post is in relation to any specific people out there. It’s just my way of saying thank you.

1. Thank you for giving us a world renowned summit where we can learn and socialize as Database professionals.

2. Thank you for supporting chapters. Working with the local people to get things done and encouraging others to start chapters.

3. Thank you for learning transparency. While so many mention that we still have not reached the goal of full transparency. In the 5 years I’ve been volunteering you have made huge strides and I know you will continue to do so.

4. Thank you for your time and hard work. Just because something isn’t done or responded to in a timely manner doesn’t mean people did not work on it and put lots of effort into it.

5. Thank you for helping me to meet and socialize with some of the greatest people I’ve ever met. As well for the countless others that have met at summits or chapter meetings.

6. Most importantly thank you to the volunteers of this organization. Not every project you work on goes as planned and many that you put your time and heart into don’t work out as you expect. But pushing on and keeping going is what makes this a great organization.

Many of you are going to be at SQL Saturday #51 this weekend with many of the Board members. While I want and expect you to tell them what they are doing wrong. Let’s try and keep in mind some of the things that have been done right. Perhaps even a thank you is in order not only for the good things they have done but for the mistakes they have made. None of us would be here if we didn’t make mistakes.

3 responses to “A Simple Thank You

  1. Pat, it's interesting; I read both you and Wes Brown's post this morning, and I found myself agreeing with both positions. You're right, we don't thank the BoD and the volunteer organization enough for what they do. Wes is also right in that there is so much more potential for PASS than is currently realized.How do I reconcile the discrepancy? I think it's a lack of communication on both sides of the fence; the executive branch is doign what they think is best, but without real and honest feedback from the membership, they're shooting in the dark (and as Wes points out, they're missing a lot).I do think it is getting better, but I think that both the board and the community leaders need to give a little grace to each other. Have a beer and talk, and maybe we can walk away understanding why we are where we are, even if we don't always agree what the best direction to go is.

  2. "Have a beer and talk, and maybe we can walk away understanding why we are where we are, even if we don't always agree what the best direction to go is." — I would love to see this happen and have a feeling it will to a point this weekend. Hopefully someone will take notes. 🙂

  3. Nice Post, I couldnt agree more."Hopefully someone will take notes." or even better Live tweet it.

Leave a Reply

