How do you spend your Slow week?

For many in the computer world this week is usually a production change freeze week or a slower week at the office.  For many DBA’s I know they will have less on their plate this week then they normally do.  So how is it you spend your time on a week like this?  If the week is slow for you.  Some find themselves cramming to get things done before the holiday at the end of the week. 

For me I’m still working on some data gathering designs since it’s not affecting my production systems.  But I will be taking some time to catch up on the last few weeks. I’ve had a very busy last few weeks and need some review time.  Here’s one thing I’ll be reviewing that I haven’t had a chance to get back to. 

This was the first year I would have to say we had 3 good Keynote’s at the PASS Summit.  I did not like the Dell keynote on Thursday before Tom Casey came up to speak but we’ll just not include that as one of the three. :)

I plan on re-watching these during my “slower” week this week and figured others might like to know where you can get the keynotes for download. 

http://www.microsoft.com/sqlserver/2008/en/us/events-webcasts.aspx

David Dewitt did an excellent job talking about the scale out capabilities planned for the future of SQL Server.  I hope to be working with this in the future so I’m very excited about it.  If you get a chance I would suggest checking them out. 

One response to “How do you spend your Slow week?

  1. I like to spend slow weeks working on technologies that I don’t currently have a direct application for but look interesting. This week I’m thinking about diving into Parallel Extensions for .Net and maybe some F# tutorials.

Leave a Reply

