PASS Board of Directors Election

It is once again that time to vote for our PASS Board of Directors(official election page).  Having been a volunteer in this organization now for almost 10 years this is a process I am very interested in.  I have served 2 years on the board and spent some time in most of the various volunteer committees you will find in the PASS organization.

The most important thing for the election is that you get out and vote!  You need to exercise your right to a voice and vote for who you feel is the best candidate.  I’ve listed my endorsement for candidates below this is my opinion on these candidates but comes from years of experience working with them in a volunteer role.  I’ve worked with both of them closely on many different aspects of the PASS organization.

Allen Kinsel (Blog|Twitter|Candidate Page)

passmemoriespictures-24

I have known Allen since 2004 and we both have been volunteering about the same amount of time with PASS.  He has a proven track record of getting things done in the PASS Organization.  He helped deliver the tools the Program committee now uses to pick sessions and allow for great PASS Summit sessions.  He helped with the Chapter tools we have now as well and forwarded the movement for the chapters as a board member.  He has consistently showed PASSion in the volunteer efforts he has been involved in.  I think his previous time on the Board and previous volunteering gives him excellent depth and experience in this arena.  For me he’s the best overall candidate that knows the organization well and is willing to go the extra mile for the PASS organization and SQL community.

Tim Ford (Blog|Twitter|Candidate Page)

Tim fordTim is truly awesome to me.  He has organization skills, business sense, funny, great photographer and an exceptional volunteer.  He has always helped out the PASS organization in many different roles.  He knows event planning and managing events from the SQL Saturday events he has put on and from founding and running SQL Cruise.  He is passionate about change and about making things better.  Tim is the best newcomer candidate I think. He not only knows the PASS organization well but knows the things that need to get done to keep it going on a path to greatness.

?

My third candidate/vote is yet to be decided for me.  I will be doing research over the next few days to try and determine my last vote.  I strongly suggest you do the same.  Don’t just take my word for it research the candidates and talk to them and ask them questions find out which ones you feel are the right fit.

The one thing I believe all candidates need when on the Board is a PASSion for helping others.  Volunteering at the level of the board is hard work and takes a lot of time and effort and that PASSion is what keeps you going.

Happy Voting

One response to “PASS Board of Directors Election

  1. Even though I hate that picture I totally appreciate the support Pat!

Leave a Reply

