DBA Job Hunting Tips

Wow 4 months without a blog post.  I’ve been a lazy blogger.   :)

In reality this seems to happen to me when I start a new job.  I get so focused on creating a new project I lose a lot of time to write blog posts or participate in social networks.   I’ve taken on a few new contracts as well and volunteer items so it’s been a busy 4 months for me.  I’m going to try and get into the habit of writing up a blog post a week.  I have 2-3 already written/drafted so those should get scheduled in the next few weeks.

At my last job I was responsible for hiring a new DBA for the team.  I’m in the same position at my current company and am looking for a DBA.  I’ve gotten a few resumes already and just wanted to share what I typically go through to review candidates.  Now keep in mind this is before I have talked to them, emailed them or scheduled some sort of interview.

  1.  Google the candidates email address.   I look at the results returned but also look at the discussions list to find what Google groups they might have been asking questions in and what kind of questions.
  2. I search on Linked in by the name of the person.  Google can find this as well I like to put a location behind the name like SLC so it finds the local person.  That is of course if the person is local.
  3. I review what I find from Google and LinkedIn.  If they are on LinkedIn I find out who else is in my network I can possibly ask for a review.  I review the information listed on LinkedIn and the reviews they have gotten from other members of LinkedIn.
  4. If they have blogs/twitter and I can find that from the email or name that was given then I review that information as well.

These are the typical steps I do before even calling/speaking with a candidate.  This doesn’t mean that I’m not going to interview someone just because of what I find.  It just provides me with more information about the candidate.

So if you are out there looking in the market for a DBA position (like this one! (http://www.allegiance.com/company/career-opportunities#da) I would suggest placing this information clearly on your resume so that it’s easy to find.  It will at least make my life easier and I’m sure others will appreciate it as well.

One response to “DBA Job Hunting Tips

  1. Pingback: DBA Job Hunting Tips Part 2 | Sql Server Insane Asylum (A Blog by Pat Wright)

Leave a Reply

